MiPOesias

10_dolphinb.jpgFor the record (does this thing constitute a record of some kind?), I have not abandoned this blog. And no, nobody accused me of doing so, and sure, I am feeling just a bit defensive for no clear reason today, so what?

I figured I would put up a new link off to the right for you avid readers. MiPOesias is an online poetry magazine I’ve been browsing through occasionally over the last few months. The issue guest-edited by Gabriel Gudding (which has a theme of “weird” poems) is what drew me to it initially. I saw Gabriel read at the University of Illinois when I was an undergrad. I remember him reading the draft of a poem about fisting a dolphin’s blowhole. Fucking A! It seems to me like he’d be a qualified judge for weird poetry and, from time to time in that issue, good poetry.

What I’m listening to: Tom Waits, Starving in the Belly of a Whale. How appropriate.

I had a dream about a crow-headed man two nights ago. He entered my house, which I remember having the general feel of the house in A Scanner Darkly, and told me he was going to eat me soon, but to hang out with him for a while first. I don’t think he was lonely, but he might have been. He must have been. Why else would he have wanted to hang out? He displayed no emotion. I tried to get away at some point.

2 thoughts on “MiPOesias

  1. Thanks for the MiPOesias link. I hadn’t checked that out yet (though now I really have too much to read). Have you checked out ubuweb yet? It’s also linked to Silliman’s blog.
    What I’m listening to: Pierre Boulez, Le Marteau Sans Maitre.

  2. Dolphin fisting, eh? Reminds me of a time when… Hey, actually, it doesn’t remind me of any time. Sounds delightful. Or the opposite of delightful. Jury’s still out, though I think I can guess which way it will go.

Leave a Reply

