Self-Portraits created in Processing + GIMP

I’ve begun learning a programming language again. This time its Processing, and I’m finally getting serious about it. I just received a copy of Matt Pearson’s Genarative Art last month, but I’m working through the examples in Generative Design: Visualize, Program and Create with Processing by Hartmut Bohnacker, Benedikt Gross, Julia Laub and Claudius Lazzeroni first.

These self-portraits were the result of applying sketch P_4_3_2_01 (with text and character attributes tweaked a bit in the code) to a profile picture of mine. As the process used was typographic, and this is a self-portrait, I used my first name as the text to be repeated. The shapes of the large letters, stacked into elongated cylinders, distort the features and colors of my face into strangely evocative curves and knives. The images captured from the processing session were then enlarged and passed through many filters until they came out as they have.

I haven’t learned enough to really create my own generative art / digital poetry code, but tweaking other people’s code has always been the best way for me to figure out what’s going on in the code. I’ll keep plugging away, and coding my heart out.

Enjoy!

Note: They look better at full size, so click on them to view them at 100%.

_______________________________________________________

myPic

The image file used as input in Processing.

_______________________________________________________

self-portrait-processing-gimp-4 self-portrait-processing-gimp-3 self-portrait-processing-gimp-1 self-portrait-processing-gimp-2

Leave a Reply

