New Review of Nick Demske by Nick Demske in Sycamore Review 23.1

@ Fence Books

My pain-&-disenchantment-fueled review of Nick Demske’s first book, Nick Demske, is out in print in the latest Sycamore Review 23.1. Wish it was posted up online, but the best I can do is an excerpt:

Nick Demske, I am erecting a solid bronze monument to this work, devised with warlock magic and prescription medications: a gate in the style of Dante’s Gate of Hell, wrought from the negative energies that hang in cartoon clouds above our heads. I have harnessed the anger of the millions foreclosed upon since 2008; the terror and rage of all whose family members have been shot, bombed or otherwise murdered in armed conflicts over markets, contracts or resources; the depression and anxiety of a population trapped in a bankrupt system of increasing productivity and dwindling prosperity; and the resentment and violence fed by the yawning chasm between rich and poor. The inscription on the gate reads: WHEN I SAY POST-APOCALYPTIC, I MEAN “CONTEMPORARY.”

I really got off on this tongue-in-cheek(s) work of irreverence and offensiveness. If you’re not familiar with Nick Demske’s online journal Boo: A Journal of Terrific Things, you should go read it. Then get a copy of the book.

And hey, Nick, if you read this post, I’m still waiting to hear back about my submissions. It’s been, like, six months now. Is there going to be an Issue 3? Don’t misunderstand me, I know how busy things get, but I about shit my pants for joy when I saw a journal asking for what seemed to be exactly what I had been writing for over a year. A journal of offensive things is something this country really needs. And a museum and cable television network of truly offensive things, in addition to the offensively stupid things already out there.

Alright.

One thought on “New Review of Nick Demske by Nick Demske in Sycamore Review 23.1

  1. http://www.gspayshop.com 60%off ($30-$70) SHOES/T-shirts/JACKET/JEANS/BAGS on sale wholesales:ni k e adi das u gg ba pe burb erry chan el coa ch L V gu cci ho gan pra da lac oste pu ma arma ni D G e d ha rdy ok ey and so on.And we can offer all COLORS and all SIZE. Our prices are for wholesale. So our price is very reasonable. If you want to order more newer products,Any question please

Leave a Reply

