Identity A Blog Post

[Original Post: 26 Jul 2010 @ 3:48 PM]

[Update 1: 04 Aug 2010 @ 1:03 AM]

[Update 2: 03 Sept 2010 @ 9:59 PM]

1

I am I because my little blog knows me. The author typing alone has nothing to fear.

– – – – – – – – – – – – –

Questions for Further Discussion:

What is true about the statement in this poem?

whr iz d contxt?

2

To not forget: ideas and texts that I fear losing track of [I fear losing track of myself and my things], unlike in writing poems, where memory is not (for me) (for now) important, is not the object, and there is often little to “keep track of.”

Blog is about image (self) in that scattered pieces which the self is fearful of forgetting may be kept in one space and displayed as self-image, is then the self that is forgetful and may forget itself but never will, which has that identity then of seeing oneself laid out as in a journal or photo album. There is some distance there. Flip through and remember things you have lost track of to feel more whole.

This is of the nature of illusion.

3

My writing is mostly to avoid or obstruct self-construction, brush aside the illusion of a solid self. My writing often instead relies upon a principle of like/dislike or pleasure/boredom, which is an equally troublesome illusion. I have read. Though I really like-dislike pleasure and boredom. But then,

Writing is the present creation of illusion in order to diverge from it in being a state of attention. Attention, the activity of reading or observing, is the only history and present moment – at all.

(Scalapino, The Public World / Syntactically Impermanence 10)

There is the term “timeless awareness” in Tibetan Dzogchen Buddhism. This could not be a medium [basis?] for writing.

Attention here assumes the point of conventional self (relative) not the truth of no-self (ultimate) — self and mind as they appear and are experienced within or without narrative/historical context — as the point of composition. By assuming this point and writing in opposition to the self-cherishing attitude and the reinforcement of self-concern, one engages in an effective deconstructionist and Buddhist mode of writing.

4

This is nothing like nowhere as good as Identity A Poem. That had a lot to do with plays and human nature. This has nothing to do with plays and little to say about human nature.

I love you Gertrude Stein. I do this for you Gertrude Stein.

>- o -< >- o -<>- o -<>- o -<>- o -<>- o -<>- o -<>- o -<>- o -<

Lotuses smell like toilet cakes

Blogs smell like blogs

ppl smeL lIk ppl

And swamps smell terrible most of the year.

<+|+> <+|+><+|+><+|+><+|+><+|+><+|+><+|+><+|+>

5

There is illusion of continuity thus continuity of self. There are posts (writings) and gaps, and the gaps must be filled in with an assumption of continuity of self. Until the last writing. Then the complete writings may be published and sold, arranged in order of the best continuity of self, not necessarily in time, because a self does not always develop in time or thought, but actions, which are often more clearly defined outside of temporal continuity. And a self does not really develop in actions because the self does not inherently exist.

6 – txt msg (CstructD 4 othRz)

A prsn iz not a v gud writer. A writer iz CstructD 4 othRz out of a prsnz living & wrkN. Born @ d nd of writiN & brawt in2 d wrld by editors, 1 hOpz dey wer gud fRnds. DIS iz an illusion of BcumN a writer. insted jst jst wrte.

2 thoughts on “Identity A Blog Post

  1. Very unique post here. (I think #2 should be a byline on yours or many a blog).

    I’m curious about #1, relation of blog to memory. A private journal is more closely related to memory, but I would think that to some extent even a private journal, and much more a public blog, is more about performance. At least, I don’t dash off all the things I want to remember as much as I dash off the things I want others to see me remembering, and I would imagine the same for you.

    Also curious about your focus on publishing in #4. It seems to be in the traditional sense and not simply “publish it online to my blog/anywhere others will read it.” Some people, obviously, take a very high-minded attitude towards publication — oh, it couldn’t matter less for the artistic process — but in your post it seems integral to the act.

    Cheers,
    WP

    • Great point about #1. I consider this post as a work in progress, so I’m incorporating your comment into the update.

      The point I want to make in #4 is not really against the “high-minded attitude” you speak of, or in support of, I suppose I might call it “print materialism.” Thinking about the poets I “know” of as only writers (not those I know personally), they are writers separate from the people that they were. This becomes very clear when a writer you admire greatly dies. Any personal encounter or correspondence that might have happened is now never going to happen, and all that you are left with is the writer and her writings. The illusory entity of “writer” is assigned to that person and separated from the writer as living human being. In that sense, writers do not serve themselves, because their birth is dependent upon readers and the act of publication. Publication in books and other print media, too, at the current time, is more solid and seemingly-enduring than online publication. This is all part of the illusion of becoming a writer: the “writer” that you become will always be alien to your living present life.

      I love publishing anywhere and everywhere online, though. A book would be great, but I don’t see anything wrong with an electronic chapbook. Anywhere that I can find an engage and interested readership is fantastic. For this reason, I do feel that publishing is integral to the act. I don’t write only for myself, though I derive great pleasure and purpose from it.

Leave a Reply

