It Seems I’m Manic (and I’m going to learn Csound)

With the help of WebMD I’ve self-diagnosed myself with hypomania, which I am considering a good thing :)

Some of the grand projects I’ve set myself upon lately are: conceiving of/designing computer interfaces for poetic collaboration; listening to as much avant-garde music as I can (free improvisation, Tzadik label, other experimental composition); getting myself to improvise freely and fluidly on my trumpet; learning how to make ambient and noise music with Csound.

From cSounds.com:

Csound is a sound design, music synthesis and signal processing system, providing facilities for composition and performance over a wide range of platforms. It is not restricted to any style of music, having been used for many years in the creation of classical, pop, techno, ambient, experimental, and (of course) computer music, as well as music for film and television.

And, of course, the software is free for any and all to download.  I’ve heard that it isn’t easy to learn, though, so wish me luck.

I’m not sure than anything will come of these projects right now, but it’s great starting things, eh?

Leave a Reply

