The Context of the U.S. in Iraq in Brief

I was just over at Another Day in the Empire, a blog I just recently started reading. As I am feeling more political lately, and this is a fairly new thing for this blog, I figured I’d start with a fairly tame post.

In his post today responding to the upcoming release of the new Iraq progress report (I think we got a C this time) and the bullshit news stories announcing it’s likely contents, he wrote at one point:

It does not take a rocket scientist to figure any of this out. After Bush Senior attacked Iraq in 1991, methodically destroying the country’s power, communications, water, sewage treatment and health facilities, more than a decade of sanctions were imposed to make sure these critical services were not rebuilt and restored, thus resulting in the premeditated murder of around a million Iraqis, half of them helpless children. Bush the Lesser, of rather his coterie of neocons, have done the same this time around, albeit without sanctions but through occupation instead, an occupation promised to last for decades to come, as admitted by General David Petraeus, commander of Multi-National Force in Iraq.

I find myself agreeing with a lot of what I read on this blog (and perplexed by some). It seems that there are others out there angry and bothered by the same bullshit propaganda as I am. Who’d a thunk it?

One thought on “The Context of the U.S. in Iraq in Brief

Leave a Reply

