Taking a Break: Notes from Polo

passport.jpgMy public has responded, and they do need me! It’s good to be needed, oh yes.

Haven’t written a word down since the semester ended. No blogging. No essays. No poetry. I’m taking a break. My antibiotics have finished, and I do feel better, but I’m still not sure that whatever it is that has been causing the sinus infections is really gone yet. So I’ve started yoga again, I’ve returned to my meditation practice, and I’m exercising semi-daily. Relax! Blood pressure, you goin’ down!

K is gone to St. Lucia for the summer. I’m back in Polo. I’m in need of some cash now that I’ve paid for my passport. I’m trying to get a job, or two. If I can, I’d like to get money for rent and (listen up, Dave) a plane ticket to St. Lucia. The laptop is gonna haveta wait. If anybody has been trying to call me, by the way, I do not get any service in Polo and environs. I’ll get back in touch whenever I go somewhere that gets service, so please leave a message.

The summer reading schedule has begun. I’m reading now: Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy, My Life by Lyn Hejinian, and Eduardo Galeano’s Genisis (Part I of the Memory of Fire trilogy). Coming up: Neil Gaiman’s American Gods, Dimensions by Jacques Vallee, and Campbell McGrath’s Spring Comes to Chicago. We’ll see if I get around to Allen Ginsberg or George Oppen’s collections of their complete poetry at all this summer. We’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Taking a Break: Notes from Polo

  1. keep me posted. By the way, nice to see that I’m not the only poet primarily focused on reading prose this summer.

Leave a Reply

