‘Raketemensch!’ Pynchon Illustrated


Just came from Silliman’s Blog, where I read that an artist (Zak Smith) has taken it upon himself to illustrate Gravity’s Rainbow, one illustration for each page. Every illustration is scanned and archived online for your viewing pleasure at the preceding link… check it out. If you haven’t read the book (along with Steven Weisenburger’s excellent companion), and you ever find yourself with a couple free months, I recommend it: truly an amazing experience. If you have… well, just flipping through each frame, I remembered quite a bit about the stories [I won’t call it plot, exactly–more specifically narrative progression] as each plate came up. What was most interesting is how much I am still connected to the emotional/arousal experiences of the novel, how important that aspect of the book was important to my appreciation of it. I’m not trying to write a review here, you can find those somewhere else.

Right. I’m done now. And I want to read Gravity’s Rainbow again. Ai, me!

Leave a Reply

